BE HAPPY IN BALI

Reviews from our guests

w
Oct 2018

Emma (from the U.S.A.)

The pictures and descriptions of this place just really cant do it justice. Words can’t describe how absolutely perfect Villa Semadhi is. My husband and 5 of our best friends spent a week here in October and it was the closest to heaven I’ve ever felt. I don’t even know where to start… the plumeria growing everywhere carried the scent of sweet flowers on the breeze, while also decorating the paths and pools. The statues and art were beautiful and tasteful. The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. One of my favorite parts about this place was that no one had to stay in a “crappy” room. All of the rooms were special and beautiful. The food was AMAZING! I’m a professionally trained chef, so probably a little pickier than some, and I didn’t have a single thing from chef Jero that was anything less than fantastic. The staff were all incredibly friendly and accommodating. They were always there when you needed them, but never intrusive or overbearing. We spent days lounging on the day bed by the pool of down on the deck by the ocean, we even saw a whale right in front of the villa! I’d highly recommend going to restaurant Suma and the spa at Sumberkima Hill retreat, also owned by Jane and Bernard. They even opened a villa up for our group to watch the sunset and have drinks before going down to the restaurant. I’ve never felt more relaxed and taken care of in my life. This place is truly special, and I feel incredibly lucky to have found it. A piece of my heart will always be at Villa Semadhi! 

w
May 2018

Amber (from the U.S.A.)

Just relax: The villa was exactly as described and pictured. Everything was cleaned daily. Puspa was wonderful to work with, giving us suggestions on where to go and what to eat and arranging everything for our family of 8. The cooks did an amazing job at every meal, and even met my husbands request for very spicy sambal and other odd dishes that were not on the villa menu. The food was freshly made and the water was safe to drink. The bay was calm, clear, warm, and easy to swim in. We walked to some local warungs for lunch, and the kids walked to local shops to buy sodas and junk food. If you are looking for a remote area, this is it. You will have to arrange(Puspa will do this for you), to travel anywhere, and expect at least 2 hour drive. The villa has a book that has suggestions on various activities within the surrounding area. Plus, you can have Puspa arrange other trips for you. The pool and the deck over looking the bay were greatly used. I recommend this villa to all families. We felt safe the entire time and all of our wishes were fulfilled by an amazing staff!

w
February 2018

KEVIN, (FROM THE U.S.A.)

“Fantastic: If you’re looking for relaxation and luxury, than staying at this Villa in Pemuteran is second to none. After staying here, I went on to the Viceroy in Ubud and then the Ritz Carlton in Hong Kong. This property was the best of the three places I stayed at during my travels. The Villa has everything you need and plenty of space. The staff and the food are amazing. There is really nothing but positives I can offer about my stay.”

w
January 2018

WATTY (FROM THE U.K.)

Everything we hoped for: We spent 6 nights at Villa Semadhi. Our criteria was: quiet, snorkelling, and relaxing. The villa fulfilled this and more. The view on entering the villa brought gasps and sighs at the thought that we would have this to ourselves for almost a week! The rooms were spotless and spacious, with quirky outdoor bathrooms and decor that was a mix of Balinese and European. We spent many hours relaxing by the wet edge pool, lazing in the massage pavilion and, when the mood took us, taking a bike ride into the village or wandering to the temples close by. Puspa and his staff were amazing. We were looked after with utmost care, but it did not feel intrusive. We really enjoyed speaking with Puspa each morning to plan our day and get an insight into the culture and community of Pemuteran. Massages and snorkelling trips were arranged for us. At one stage I remember looking up as I snorkeled and marvelled that we were the only people on that reef – we had that amazing place to ourselves! The food, prepared by Jero, was incomparable. While we did go into the village for a couple of lunches, we quickly found that we couldn’t go past the meals we could get right at the villa. We fell in love with Balinese food and believe we got to experience food that was tasty and of top quality. While the road trip from the south is a bit of a journey, it was entirely worth it for an experience that we won’t forget. Thank you to Jane and Bernard and to your staff: our holiday was fantastic and we highly recommend it.

w
October 2017

GEORGIE (FROM AUSTRALIA)

Our family of 6 stayed for 6 nights in early October. This was our ‘relaxing’ leg of our bali trip after spending 6 adventurous days in ubud. This place is paradise! We didn’t venture far. A few walks along the beach to Pemuteran to snorkel. The majority of our time was taken swimming in the pool and really relaxing. The villa is beautiful. All 6 of us were able to spread out. Puspa and his staff were fantastic. We ate at the villa for every meal and the food was delicious. Gin took the boys out for a bike ride to the surrounding temples and even took them to his home. The kids loved the day. Gin was super friendly and hospitable. We even booked the boat for an afternoon snorkel not far from the villa. We all loved this too. The highlight was being involved in a Hindu ceremony held in the temple on the villa grounds. We hung back initially, not wanting to impose. Jane and Bernard, the owners, soon had us joining in. We found sarongs for the kids so they could enter the temple and the staff and their families were more than happy for us to take part. It was a truly joyful and magical experience. One that will stay with us. Thank you to Jane, Puspa, Gin and all the staff for making our time in Pemuteran extraordinary!!

w
September 2017

ZACHARY (FROM THE U.S.A.)

My wife and I have stayed at luxury hotels and villas all over the world and this is by far the nicest place we have ever stayed. Every detail is thought of and the service and support of the staff were excellent. It is 1000x better in person and truly a very special place. It’s 3.5 hours from the airport which keeps the tourists at bay. We felt like we had a unique Ball experience and explored lots of the recommendations in the villa’s to-do guide. This place is truly amazing – I have zero suggestions or complaints! We stayed for 2 weeks and I could have stayed 2 more!

w
February 2017

LIZZ (FROM THE U.K.)

Villa Semadhi was amazing! It offers everything you could want to make a perfect holiday. The property itself is beautiful and spacious, with a stunning pool, jacuzzi and garden leading straight onto the beach. Sitting on the sun chairs at the end of the garden under the shade of the trees, watching the local fishermen at sea with a cold beer in hand is a memory that will last a lifetime. The Villa has amazing, friendly staff who make the stay effortless. They have a lot of local knowledge and can arrange anything you might want to try. The snorkelling around the bay at Pemuteran on the Bio-Reef is incredible, only to be trumped by the reef wall on the trip to Menjangan Island, which is only a 15 minute drive away. It was like swimming in an aquarium. The area of Pemuteran is quiet with a very local feel, so much more relaxed than a lot of Bali these days. Go, you won’t be disappointed, that’s for certain. I would highly recommend Villa Semadhi with no hesitation at all.

w
February 2015

CHRIS AND FRIENDS

I can go on and on, but the truth is simple….. This place had the best views, best property, amazing staff, great accessibility for exploring (super close to the monkey temple and others), and the food was SO good. They also hooked us up with a guide, Made, for snorkeling and other adventures who helped us communicate with the locals and find the best reefs and spots of Pemuteran. If you want to relax, get spa treatments, dine and enjoy good company… This is the spot. There were four couples staying and we felt there was plenty of space, plenty of everything. We’re all very active but this place sucked us in immediately. We will definitely return to this magical place on the ocean! Thanks, Bernard!

w
November 2014

A couple (from the Netherlands)

We stayed for two weeks in Villa Semadhi and we enjoyed every single moment: the house is beautifully designed and furnished with a great eye and sense for detail. Beside that, it’s very comfortable with its large rooms and bathrooms. For example: we enjoyed very much our comfortable outdoor, walled bathroom with an amazing tree and beautiful big plants. During day- and evening time the garden is the place to be: for every moment of the day you can find several comfortable places to read, meditate or just relax in the shadow of flowering trees, such as the amazing ‘frangipani’ (Plumeria). Furthermore there’s a lovely breakfast/lunch/dinner pavilion in the garden, surrounded by a pond full of fairy tale waterlilies and fishes. We just sat down, had a nice Balinese Bintang beer and waited for the wonderful Balinese ‘cuisine’ to surprise us! We were absolutely spoiled by the very friendly staff, not only with delicious meals, but also with a bicycle whenever desired and other small attentions. I should not forget to mention the infinity pool, which is very well placed within this tropical paradise garden: we swam with a lovely view on the ocean at one side and the beautiful house on the other! As for the surroundings of the villa, they are also worth a close look: we found some interesting temples and even attended a service in one of them. Furthermore there are several beautiful resorts at about 10 min. cycling. We were very welcome to walk around and take a look and pictures and to have a nice lunch or dinner at the beach. Every resort has its own character, so we visited them all! We also found some nice little giftshops and small ‘warungs’ (little restaurants). At last we made a very special trip to Menjangan Island by boat, where we went snorkling and saw the most amazing fishes and other creatures. Last but not least we were truly touched by the unbelievable friendliness of the Balinese people: everybody smiles, says ‘hello’ or even asks where you’re from and if you like Bali. Never before we met such friendly and open people! No surprise: we truly and very enthusiastically recommend this villa and give it five stars!

STAY IN PARADISE

In the most beautiful beachfront villa of North West Bali

See if we have vacancy for your preferred dates.